Lube Gate Scandal: BJ Penn Files Complaint With The NSAC, Wants Rematch With GSP

By
Updated: February 5, 2009

bj-penn-wins

BJ Penn has officially sent a letter to the Nevada State Athletic Commission requesting an investigation into whether Georges St. Pierre’s corner man Phil Nurse intentionally lubed his fighters back during the UFC 94 superfight last Saturday.

The letter does not constitute a formal request for an investigation by the NSAC. He will have 10 days to request a formal investigation.

Here is part of the letter sent to the NSAC:

“In order for Mr. Penn (or any other licensed fighter of the Nevada Athletic Commission) to properly executive Brazilian jiu jitsu or the many other grappling techniques which are an essential part of MMA, it is necessary that an environment exists without any illegally applied lubricants, oils or other substances that cause or result in slippery surfaces on the combatants”

“The first round, one of the inspectors that was on the outside of the cage came over to me and said it looked to him that when the cornerman, who I think in that case was Phil Nurse, put the Vaseline on Georges’ face then rubbed his shoulders — which you see the guys rubbing the other guy’s shoulders to help him out — he didn’t wipe off his hands between doing that,” Kizer said. “I said, ‘Well, I’m going to watch very closely after this round.’

Keith Kizer the executive director of the NSAC witnessed the lubing incident during the rounds at UFC 94, had this to say on what transpired:

Kizer said he then witnessed one cornermen put Vaseline on Georges’ face, which is allowed, but that he then illegally put his hands on the fighter’s back “to do the breathing thing they always do …. Tony Liano and I immediately yelled at him, and I don’t think he heard us because of the noise … So I actually went into the octagon, and I said, ‘Take your hand off of his back. What are you doing?’ We wiped it down. We made sure it was wiped down after the third round as well. This was after the second when I was in there. I was very upset. I don’t know if they were doing it intentionally or not. Either way, they shouldn’t have done it.” [mmajunkie]

According to the letter sent to the NSAC, BJ Penn might be seeking a rematch with GSP:

“All Mr. Penn wanted to have is a fair and just bout and he continues to seek a fair and just encounter against Georges St-Pierre.”

The wording suggests that Penn wants to get back in the Octagon with St. Pierre for what would be a third meeting between the pair. [FightersOnly]

77 Comments

  1. Ryan

    February 5, 2009 at 4:43 am

    I'm a fan of BJ's, but if him or his corner are implying that had anything to do with the outcome that's rediculous. From what I saw in that video, it wasn't like the guy put a fresh "glob" of vasseline on his hands before rubbing his back. I wish BJ would just accept defeat graciously and go back down to dominate the 155 class.

  2. roy

    February 5, 2009 at 4:51 am

    matt serra, miller, and now matt hughes along with other fighters have came out and said they thought he was lubing up in there fights, rashad evans was accused by tito of lubing kenny florian said huerta was lubed up and where do all these fighters fight-at greg jacksons.this has nothing to do with the fight or the out come of the fight it has to do with cheating and thats what they need to look at.

  3. derek

    February 5, 2009 at 5:03 am

    what lube? he put most of it on GSP's face. some went around the neck and upper back, but nowhere near the arms / lower back / stomach, etc — areas best for locking during submission. the lube on GSP's face could help slip off punches, but i think it is minimal. if bj really wanted to call cheater, he should have called out feder — that monster naturally sweats lube.

  4. tom

    February 5, 2009 at 5:06 am

    BJ would have lost anyways…he got man handle the hole fight…BJ is just a poor loser and sport…but whatever

  5. T.R.

    February 5, 2009 at 5:54 am

    I love bj but i think that he needs to just let this one end in controversy and wreck the 155 division. He is too weak and out of shape to fight at 170 But he looks strong always at 155. Stay there bj and retire the champ, please. I agree with ryan on this one.

  6. roy

    February 5, 2009 at 5:57 am

    this has nothing to do with the outcome of the fight and everything to do with cheating,let the nsac investigate and see what they say.no one wants the sport tainted with cheaters.

  7. ian

    February 5, 2009 at 6:26 am

    dont get me wrong i like bj alot more than gsp

    but i believe hes just looking for a way out of his televised A** beating

    he should just man up and move on,its just making him look bad =/

  8. ELBOWZ

    February 5, 2009 at 7:07 am

    Q. What would GSP prove by Cheating?

    A. That he's a cheater…..whatever.

    if he did "cheat" then i guess the "lube" smashed in BJ's face!!!!!

    This is a classic case of making excuses for getting your ass whooped!!!! BJ had nothing left after the first round.

  9. roy

    February 5, 2009 at 7:19 am

    don't get me wrong but again this is more than bj saying this, it was chuck and mir that said he was lubing dana even said gsp is in trouble, bj lost it had nothing to do with the lube but do you guys want people cheating, the nsac went in there and yelled at his corner they where not supposed to do it and how come so many other fighters are saying he has been lubing and the other fighters at greg jacksons camp as well.i am not interested in gsp vs bj 3 i just don't want to see people cheating.

  10. Don

    February 5, 2009 at 7:39 am

    BJ is simply a sore loser. He needs to accept that he got his ass kicked, no matter what.

  11. Jake

    February 5, 2009 at 7:44 am

    Hughes said it, Serra said it and now we watched it happen against BJ.

    Pretty sneaky even for a canadian.

  12. ELBOWZ

    February 5, 2009 at 7:50 am

    outside of MMA Americans can be pretty shady too, Jake.

  13. Miko

    February 5, 2009 at 8:12 am

    no question a least a bit of that lube got on his back and shoulders. But everytime a guy greases up his faces and then punches the other guy that grease is now on his gloves and it gets all over the his opponent whereever he touches him or even grapples and it rubs off his face onto the other guy.

    so I'm sure bj was just as greasy as gsp was considering how many times gsp punched him in the face and then tooke him down.

  14. Morey

    February 5, 2009 at 8:46 am

    I didn't even look like a big deal. How much lube do they think he could possibly have put on his back after everything else? I'm a Penn fan so I would be the first to say if there was something too this.

  15. Tim

    February 5, 2009 at 9:49 am

    The Lube Won, The Lube Won…..WTF seriously are you joking BJ and all the other sore loosers…Clearly if GSP was putting any oils, vaseline on areas that shouldnt be it would of definetly been caught before the fight and during and after..he would have a glossy shine to his entire body or just certain parts…look at his face and does any other body part like his back and forearms have a shine to them…NO they dont, not to mention GSP wears some short fight shorts so its not like he is hiding anything…come on BJ and others just becuase your jealous and GSP beat everyone of you…this is just the simple case of wanting to start shit for nothing. the rubbing of the neck and SPOT on the back was unintentional with the extra lubage on his hands….BJ got his ass handed to him to wear he had to QUIT did you hear me BJ quit…he was being worked so bad from standup to takedowns…BJ just lost to the better man. However a rematch isnt good as BJ would just be asking for it again come BJ beat GSP…after last fight seriouslly that would be a total JOKE!!!! BJ needs to stay where he is he can not compete with GSP. No where was there lubage accurring during that fight he rubbed his face with Vaseline and with the shine left on his hands he rubbed the neck and small spot on the back and tapped the chest…a ritual they say…it does sound fishy though as to rub just a small spot on the back but honestly that one little spot wouldnt pose problems for someone to work fro mthe back…shit sweat alone would pose more problems than vaseline. Still an investigation will be done as thats the law once a complaint is made but its a silly one…sure the corner man screwed up and should of wipped off his hands before moving on punish him, but surely the so called extra lubage he had left over on his hands even though there wasnt any on them just the mere shine left did not effect BJ not winning that fight…seriously i understand but than again i dont the man got beat bad and if he wants to blame it on vaseline than shit he has more problems other than not winning.

  16. dane drebin

    February 5, 2009 at 9:52 am

    its plain and simple they need to have a person who greases both fighters faces and leaves without touching them. miko yes bj could have been as slippery as george but thats a disadvantage to bj because he is a jitz guy. u cant just lightly wipe off vasoline. dont believe me? go put some vasoline in ur hand and try to wash it off its pretty hard to get off. i dont think this is in anyway george cheating and i dont think george would have lost if this didnt happen. BUT THE FIGHT NEEDS TO HAVE EQUAL ADVANTAGES FOR BOTH FIGHTERS AND CORNER MEN SHOULD NOT BE ABLE TO RUB THEIR OPPONENTS BODIES WHEN THEY HAVE VASOLINE ON THEIR HANDS STILL. it does need to be looked into and if theres nothing to hide then nobody should be worried. it is somewhat alarming that huerta, rashad, and GSP have all been accused of this and all come from the same camp.

  17. Miko

    February 5, 2009 at 10:03 am

    dane drebin, BJ is a jitz guy and gsp is a wreslter so if bj was a bit greasy (which I'm sure he was considering how much GSP's greased face tocuhed the torso and shoulders of BJ),

    its equally a disadvantage to Georges as well.

  18. dane drebin

    February 5, 2009 at 10:07 am

    that is true miko it could make it hard to hold somebody down or it could make it hard to pull out a sub or secure a sub u never know. regardless of who it helped or disadvantaged if it did at all dont you agree that there should be someone appointed by the ame people who appoint the reffs to apply the vasoline to the face and not the fighters friends or family who is their corner man? there is just way to much bias and variables that could happen.

  19. bryan

    February 5, 2009 at 11:31 am

    whether or not it would have changed the outcome of the fight theres nothing wrong with him saying something…chuck was the first to say something anyways…whether a little bit or alot was put on him its still illegal

  20. Ellrick

    February 5, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    I think the grease played a larger role that people seem to be thinking.

    Especially considering how BJ operates off his back, you can see him struggle and slide all around when trying to control posture with a high guard, rubber guard, and just using his arms.

    I know this is a terrible pun, but George's trainer is a slimy dude.

    BJ will never see GSP in the octagon again, I think he is wasting his time. The UFC considers this a dead issue, and are already setting up the Silva v GSP fight at the end of the year by showcasing Silva in Montreal this april.

  21. Porsche930_Pilot

    February 5, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    What a crock!! BJ man up and stop your cry baby tactics to make excuses as to why you got your ass handed to you. As far as Serra and or Huges, if their are trying to say this happened when GSP fought them then this is just a conspiracy to start sh%t. If they believed this happened to them but are only claiming it now it's BULLSH&T!! plain and simple.

  22. dane drebin

    February 5, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    and kenny saying it against huerta after he all ready beat huerta makes perfect sense to add to the consipiracy? what about tito against rashad? just seems like too much of a coincidence

  23. steve

    February 5, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    BJ couldnt submit him the firsttime they fought and there was no grease and he was inthe same position on his back. So the grease didnt do anything. BJ just got beat down. Complain all u want to try and save ur ass after talking all that shit. GSP is clearly the better fighter end of story.

  24. dane drebin

    February 5, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    why cant you all get it through your heads its not about BJ at all. everyone can agree BJ got his ass handed to him in a bad way. nobody thinks the fight would have gone the other way except prolly BJ lol. you are all missing the real issue. tons of mma fighters are comming out and saying that they feel greg jacksons camp has been doing things to give their fighters an edge and it NEEDS to be looked into deeply and have all this gotten to the bottom of. even if bj somehow pulled a win out of nowhere this would need to be looked into. it's not like bj just braught it up out of nowhere. it was seen by a lot of people at cageside who are well respected champions, former champs, and mma fighters who were all upset over it. they need to make the rules more clear and have it be illegal for the corner of any fighter to have any access to grease. an appointed non bias person should do it.

  25. Bob

    February 5, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    Some people do not see the issue here. No one in Penn's camp ever said that Penn would have won the fight if it was fair. What they said, is GSP cheated. The NSAC saw it, and ut was caught in the video.

    I am very surprised that so many people condone the cheating, claiming that Penn is a sore loser, a crybaby, or sour grapes.

    I hope you teach your children fair play and good sportsmanship, but I doubt it.

  26. whodini

    February 5, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    yeah ..the gease made GSP slippery he could not crawl out from under him as he was planting elbows in his face …if it was such a problem then why didnt he say something during the fight ? or right after ?

  27. steve

    February 5, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    If all the ppl are complaining about is a lil grease on the jackson fighters then they should have donesomething about it. I bet the reason Chuck got KO'd is b/c Jackson greased up Evans between rounds. Wink wink. Heres my point u ppl who r taking this way to serious need to stop. Those ppl lost. Not because of any advantages their opponent had besides being the better fighter. And Bob BJ WANTS A REMATCH. This means he thinks he will beat him so ya I guarantee his brthes and family r making the excuse and running there mouths to everyone just like bj does. I mean its a little vaseline not shards of glass in the guys hands. Get over it.

  28. T.R.

    February 6, 2009 at 1:03 am

    actually after the 2nd round it was reported that bj complained of gsp being too slippery in the clinch.

    I still don't think that bj is stong enough to stay at 170 though, stay at 155. Based off of what we saw against gsp i think that even a great strong athelete like Josh Kos would give bj fits at 170.

    BJ STAY AT 155 AND RETIRE THE CHAMP!!!

  29. Bob

    February 6, 2009 at 1:59 am

    I think it is fair to want a rematch. Afterall, GSP did cheat. I would not want to see a rematch, because I don't really want to watch a cheater. They should give the entire GSP corner a polygraph test to get the truth. ALL who pass the test should be exonerated of any accusations. All who fail should be banned from any part of MMA for life.

    Cheating is cheating. There is no room for it in sports of any kind.

  30. Bob

    February 6, 2009 at 2:10 am

    whodini,

    During the fight, the fighter might notice his opponent slippery, but may not know why. Penn did complain to his corner. Penn's corner is not watching the opponent's corner between rounds. They are attending to their fighter.

    Chuck Lidell saw the infraction and pointed it out. When Lidell reported it, and the NSAC became aware, the bout should have been stopped and declared a "no contest"…

    Now, it the formal complaint, and the circumstances, GSP will be very lucky to get ONLY a "no contest" ruling… I think given the situation, the penalty will be a lot worse.

    Anyway, we shall see. As White says, "It is in the hands of the NSAC now.

    Bob

  31. sy

    February 6, 2009 at 2:47 am

    bj got his arse kicked fair and square and for all those saying gsp is a cheater its bollux he was just catching his breath he wasnt aware a tiny bit of grease was getting wiped on his back hes a great, fair and reaspectfull fighter the corner man should be delt with in this instance and yea i hope bj gets a rematch so the gobby little prick can eat his words all over again he is not even close to been on the same level as gsp hes an unsportsman like cock

  32. Bob

    February 6, 2009 at 2:48 am

    IF there is a rematch, I don't think Penn can defeat GSP unless they come in at the same weight, and even then, it would be a tough match.

    Still, the issue is cheating. It is very apparent that GSP cheated. I watched the towel wiping of GSP between the rounds. I doubt the wiping took much of anything off.

    I just hope the NSAC is rather lenient on GSP… Unless they give him a polygraph test, there is no way it can be determined if the cheating was intentional or not. If we don't know, he deserves the benefit of doubt.

    Being that GSP is suspected of cheating in previous bouts, the punishment for this cheating may not be lenient.

  33. Tim

    February 6, 2009 at 2:50 am

    steve i completley agree with you and its not often that happens. BJ is all talk he will not take the rematch even if he was offered it, this is all a show. seriously this has been blown way out of porportion…if the trainer re applies vaseline to the face and has the shine left over on his hands and he continues to rub the neck and small part of the back and tap the chest…honestly WTF that bit of shine may get on GSP but it surely isnt going to affect anything BJ can do from the back…not one bit…SWEAT alone is more slipperly then vaseline my friends and if you have ever sparred or fought before you would no that the only way that vaseline would be more slippery than sweat is if you had major lubage smeared on…and i mean major…than everyone in the world could see the shine which wasnt there…complain all they want GSP did not cheat no one cheated intentionally and if there is anyone to blame here its the NAC for not having specific rules as like having one man is only allowed to re apply vaseline to the face and than leave. that would clear this shit up if they would just impose that rule but they dont and no where does it say in the rules that the trainer must completly wipe off his hands after applying vaseline before touching any part..all it say is you cant run vaseline on any part of the body other than the face….no that rule leaves options open for problems as in this scenario as the trainer didnt have any left on his hands but a mere shine and he didnt intentially put it there…i am done with this shit …its all BS….and BJ is a fucking loser and a damn pussy, he trains like shit and relies soley upon his skills to fight but when he fights someone with better skills and some one in shape he gets beat to shit…just man up and stop acting like a spoiled rich kid.

  34. roy

    February 6, 2009 at 2:51 am

    most of you are missing the point it has nothing to do with this fight or the out come and every thing to do with cheating.

  35. roy

    February 6, 2009 at 2:53 am

    go see the new thread tim

  36. Bob

    February 6, 2009 at 2:56 am

    "Fair and square" will be determined by the Nevada State Athletic Commission. Penn got beat. No question about that, and IF there was no cheating, Penn most likely would have lost anyway. Still, cheating is cheating,

    Cheating is NEVER "fair and square"…

    Ever wonder whay the official wiped GSP's shoulders and back? How about them taking the Vasoline out of the GSP corner?

    I am surprised that so many people here have had a poor upbringing who think that cheating is OK.

  37. roy

    February 6, 2009 at 2:57 am

    sweat is more slippery than vasoline tim? come on go put a tiny bit of vasoline on yourself and try to wash it off, it does not come off easy, than go grapple with some one.

  38. ELBOWZ

    February 6, 2009 at 3:19 am

    if GSP's corner was trying to cheat, they didn't do a very good job in hiding it.

    By anyone stating that GSP is a cheater, your calling his career a sham, and that he would never be able to beat BJ or accomplish anything he's done in MMA if it wasn't for "the lube". Think about what your saying and where the source of the accusation is coming from :THE MAN WHO LOST THE FIGHT!!!!!!

  39. Bob

    February 6, 2009 at 3:44 am

    GSP should be given the benefit of doubt, because no one can read his mind, or determine if the cheating was intentional or not.

    Still, other fighters have complained about it, and warned Penn about the possible greasing. This is probably the reason the GSP corner was watched in this match.

    To say there was no cheating would be terribly inaccurate because so many people saw it and reacted to it.

  40. roy

    February 6, 2009 at 3:54 am

    elbowz i think gsp would have won every fight, but its not just bj saying this its other fighters that have fought him and fighters that havn't, i already said it would not have changed the out come, and maybe there was no cheating and it has just been over blown but they need to look into it to make sure theres no cheating.

  41. Bob

    February 6, 2009 at 4:21 am

    I think it is quite obvious. Chuck Lidell saw it, the officials saw it, and the video shows it. Now, it is up to the NSAC.

    The decision should shut quite a few mouths on this either way, but if the decision is that GSP "didn't cheat" I would say that will end my interest in MMA.

  42. dane drebin

    February 6, 2009 at 5:18 am

    some people need to get GSP's nuts out of there mouth and talk about stuff that makes sense. BLAH BLAH BLAH GSP would have still won he is the greatest! NO SHIT! for the last time everyone has said he is better than penn and would have won! i swear its like talking to retards soemtimes. Regardless of who cheated if caught you should be atleast looked at for cheating and thats all that is happening here. Even joe rogan just came out and said he thinks GSP greases. when tons of mma fighters and people at ringside say a champion is cheating and BJ in between rounds says George is rediculously slippery and cant get ahold of him then it needs to be looked at. Steve if your beloved fedor said GSP was greasing i bet youd be all over GSP saying he's a piece of shit. Tim if Lesnar for some god awefull reason faugh GSP and said he greased i bet you would shit ur pants and call for him to get his licence revoked. I personally dont think it was GSP's fault but you guys are going apeshit acting like nobody should even investigate it. its like as long as its one of ur favorite fighters they could shit on a chiolds face and you would still love them. stop being so bias and freaking out its just an investigation and if GSP is innocent he has nothing to worry about. If GSP said BJ was greasing and it was the other way around you guys would all be rediculing Penn.

  43. roy

    February 6, 2009 at 5:26 am

    good post dane, please rewatch gsp vs hughes ,hughes has him in a hold and gsp slips out and rogan says i have never seen anyone slip out of that hold from matt hughes.

  44. Tim

    February 6, 2009 at 7:32 am

    Roy, i have before its called wrestling tactic we used in practice to work on our grip and your totally took that out of context what i said whas that the minimal amount of vaseline wasnt nearly going to affect being more slippery than sweat will, it take alot of vaseline a thin coat and what was left on the trainers hands was just a mere shine and as you have all been saying its hard to completly get vaseline off DUH..so what the deal with giving him shit for wiping everything he had off on GSP face and left over was just his hands with the shine on them…to me this is all Bull Shit come on you all saw the fight the NAC came in the fight and saw nothing wrong they wipped off the back for precaution and if there was anything more wrong they would of stopped the fight and awarded the fight to BJ for disqualification.

  45. Tim

    February 6, 2009 at 7:34 am

    It doesnt matter….cheating is cheating i just dont think he cheats come look at what he does…there is no way that he could get away with greasing up his body when they check him before during and after the fight….whatever happens happens.

  46. roy

    February 6, 2009 at 7:55 am

    i agree, gsp was all over him and i like gsp i hope there was no cheating involved its just alot of people are come out saying things about him and the camp i just want them to investigate it and go from there.

  47. fedor24

    February 6, 2009 at 8:04 am

    Good post dane. GSP would have one that fight anyway. Greasing is illegal. It probably did give GSP an advantage in bj's guard that he did not need anyway. This altered the way the fight went on the ground in that bj gave up on possible subs after the 2nd round. I am a former professional boxer and can tell you first hand that vaseline transfer from the face and gloves to every part of your body during a boxing match. I can imagine how much it would spread in an mma bout. If vaseline abuse is affecting any fight in any way it is a huge problem. As it has been mentioned before by many other fighters, jacksons fighters seem to be to only ones having these unfourtunate vaseline complaints. Where there is smoke you know the rest. Bj got owned and the vas doesn't take anything away from the great performance GSP displayed. What has GSP said about the vas?

  48. Bob

    February 6, 2009 at 8:36 am

    Best, is to wait and see what the NSAC has to say. At this point, things do not look good for GSP's corner at all. IF the GSP corner is guilty of cheating, espeically blatantly cheating, they may be banned from the sport for life. If it is detwrmined "inadvertent", there may be no punishment at all. At this point, I think there will be punishment, and it will be quite severe.

  49. Ryan S

    February 6, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    I agree, the fight PROBABLY would have ended the same way, but some of these guys are right, its just the fact that you are not supposed to do it. Nut shots are illegal too, but sometimes it happens on accident, so what if one fighter "accidently" does it in almost every fight? The guy is a fucking cornerman, and he didn't know he couldn't do that? Come on now. Even a little vaseline will spread good enough to make someone more slippery, especially when it is being massaged onto the skin.

  50. Nate Fury

    February 6, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    BJ Penn is a BITCH!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


− six = 1

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Read previous post:
Andrei Arlovski 360: On The Road To Reckoning Episode 2 Video
Andrei Arlovski 360: On The Road To Reckoning Episode 2 Video

The second part of Andrei Arlovski 360 to hype the January 24 fight against Fedor Emelianenko at Affliction 2 "Day...

Close