Strikeforce “Melendez vs. Thomson” Results Live

strikeforce melendez vs. thomson

strikeforce melendez vs. thomson

Main Card

  • Josh Thomson defeats Gilbert Melendez by Unanimous Decision. Winning all five rounds on the judges cards, Josh Thomson is the NEW Strikeforce lightweight champion.
  • Billy Evangelista defeats Nam Phan by Split Decision
  • Bobby Southworth defeats Anthony Ruiz by Unanimous Decision.
  • Miesha Tate defeats Elaina Maxwell by Unanimous Decision.
  • Jeremiah Metcalf defeats Raymond Daniels by Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 0:59 of R2.
  • Eric Lawson defeats Jesse Gillespie by Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 1:03 of R1.

Preliminary Card

  • Chris Cariaso defeats Anthony Figueroa by Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 4:34 of R2.
  • Bobby Stack defeats Jose Palacios by Unanimous Decision.
  • Brian Caraway defeats Alvin Cacdac by Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 1:39 of R1.
  • Cyrillo Padhillo defeats Jesse Jones by Unanimous Decision.
  • Jorge Interiano defeats Travis Johnson by TKO (Doctor Stoppage) at the end of R2.
  • Alexandre Trivino defeats Eric Jacob by Submission (Armbar) at 0:37 of R1.


  1. tom

    June 27, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    i new josh was going to win

  2. Onri

    June 27, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    Decision after decision. I heard the Southworth fight was really boring. Makes me not feel so bad for not having HDNet. Thompson must be a bad ass to take all of the rounds.

  3. roy

    June 29, 2008 at 5:02 am

    good call tom, i thought it would be a tough fight, but i did not think gilbert would lose, thompson looked real good.there where a couple of good fights but overall not that great of a card, but hdnet is definetly worth having.

  4. tom

    June 29, 2008 at 8:39 am

    i new josh and bobby would win

  5. steve

    June 29, 2008 at 8:54 am

    I didnt think Josh would be able to dominate like he did. Wow that was a superb performance. He looked very sharp. He kinda slowed down at about the end of the third though but still they way he fought that night he wont be going to the 4th and 5th against most opponents. He was inches away on KOing Gilbert on several occasions. A lot of them being knees. I am really wanting to see K.J fight J.T in a cross promtion fight. That would be a very explosive fight.

  6. tom

    June 30, 2008 at 3:53 am

    i just watched josh vs gilbert and well i so new that josh was going to get the win and domnaint

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>