UFC 104 Machida vs Shogun In-Depth Preview Video

By
Updated: October 3, 2009
UFC 104 Machida vs Shogun In-Depth Preview Video

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m6plEMmO93g

UFC 104 “Machida vs Shogun”, Oct. 24th from the Staples Center in Los Angeles, CA.

25 Comments

  1. Jay

    October 3, 2009 at 6:35 am

    If shogun shows in his Pride Form than this will be an Intriguing match up. I think Shogun is the type of striker that can probably give machida some trouble. BUT Machida is a master of timing and he will find an opening on Shogun. Shoun better bring his "A" game or else he will fall hard

  2. Joe Smith

    October 3, 2009 at 6:53 am

    Machida, TKO…first round.

  3. derek

    October 3, 2009 at 11:15 am

    sadly, ma-CHEETAH will beat shogun by either KO or decision. i used to think machida was a boring fighter, but now i see how technical he is. he knocked out thiago, which impressed me. then he knocked out the very slick rashad evans, which impressed me even more. i would love to see machida vs anderson silva. as for cain, he has a lot of my respect. he has a lot of heart and will. he took kongo's punches on the button, and cain kept coming. cain must have a steel plate behind that chin. it was impressive.

  4. gg

    October 3, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    wtf live only on espn???

  5. Andre

    October 4, 2009 at 3:22 am

    Shogun will win this fight , Machida has never fought anyone of this caliber, shogun not only has good stand up but has excellent submissions , and i would,nt be surprised if he took this one to the ground.

  6. Al

    October 4, 2009 at 5:06 am

    hahaha

    Rich Franklin

    BJ Penn

    Tito Ortiz

    Thiago Silva

    Rashad Evans

    but nice try there…

    Shogun gassing against 44 year old Coleman and beating a 40 year old Chuck makes him a contender? Good luck to Shogun, but Machida might kill him dead in the cage in 3 weeks

  7. King kong.

    October 4, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Al…

    Comparing old fights….. bad way to go.

  8. Al 2.0

    October 4, 2009 at 9:43 am

    He said he fought no one and no one of good caliber. I gave names he has fought with good caliber, in no way talking about, or comparing old fights.

  9. Al 2.0

    October 4, 2009 at 9:43 am

    ah, coleman and chuck, ah. but still come on

  10. dane drebin

    October 4, 2009 at 9:54 am

    lyoto will be a huge favorite but i definetly think shogun will do a lot better than rashad. lets not forget that rashad lost the first round to chuck and wasnt doin much in the second until he caught chuck with that over hand from hell. shogun dominated chuck.

  11. Jay

    October 4, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Yeah Machida Probably has the best take down defense in the business and he mixes it up with tricky Aikido sweeps and judo moves

  12. dane drebin

    October 4, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Sokoudjou and Kazuhiro Nakamura werent that impressed with his takedown defense. haha i know he beat both those guys but they did take him down and that was onle 3 fights ago. hes got good takedown defense for sure but i definetly wouldnt say he has the best.

  13. dane drebin

    October 4, 2009 at 11:06 am

    if those two can take him down i think shogun will be able to because i think shogun has some of the best takedowns in mma today. Chuck has phenominal takedown defense and shogun double legged him. he also took down a world class wrestler in coleman. colemans not top ten now that hes so old but the one thing he is still amazing at is wrestling.

  14. dane drebin

    October 4, 2009 at 11:07 am

    im so stoked for this fight im hoping for a war i think there are a lot of variables that makes this fight interesting and its not as cut and dry as people think.

  15. ron shaw

    October 4, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    i haven't been impressed with the shogun i see in the ufc so i think machida will outclass him. machida's stance makes him more prepared for takedowns too.

  16. Jay

    October 4, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    lets pray that shogun brings it for real. Than Machida will have his hands full. One thing that seems kinda perplexing to me is that Shogun on paper appears to be the more better and aggresive fighter wheres Machida just waits for his prey to attack. We thought the same thing for rashad that he was quicker and would push the pace. And all of sudden we saw a total different Machida that we never seen before. Compared to his pre- rashad fight Machida just looked boring. But we really saw his display of a real mixed martial artist against rashad. Although he looked impressive against Thiago as well.

  17. hosan

    October 4, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    Sokoudjou and nakamura may not have been impressed with machida's takedown defense, but tito sure was. My opinion is much the same as everyone else's, if shogun isn't back to his murderous ways, he'll lose hard. Maybe not quick, but definitely badly.

    I don't think the lidell fight is proof enough that he's back. The fight wasn't pushed at a very high pace, and chuck was very predictable. Machida is an extremely quick and unpredictable fighter. He throws more feints than just about any fighter and follows up with laser shots from nowhere.

    So all-in-all, I say machida wins it, but I at least hope it's a good fight.

  18. King kong.

    October 4, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    Shogun versus Chuck for me was a sign that Shogun is returning.

    Shogun best win = Rampage.

    Machida best win = Rashad.

    i'd know who i'd consider a better fighter.

    i'm hoping Shogun is back…. if he is i expect Machida to be surprised.

  19. shawn

    October 4, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    Machida is a bad dude 16-0. he flaten the real quick!!!!!!!

  20. roy

    October 5, 2009 at 1:53 am

    i got shogun in this one. and al you know shogun has fought more than colman and chuck right?

  21. ufc10076

    October 5, 2009 at 7:15 am

    I think that Lyoto Machida going to win this figth beacuse he is more fast than Shogun. Shogun is very strong and very good kickboxer, but Lyoto too.

    They are very good figthers, but i think Lyoto is more complete.

  22. David

    October 5, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    I know most of you will root for the underdog but saying Shogun will beat Machida is wishful thinking. You talk about the ground game but shogun couldn't even take Griffin down. He's gonna stand and bang and Machida's stand up is more advanced than shogun's. It really comes down to speed, and Shogun doesn't have the hand speed that can match Machida's. Machida is only getting better as he is developing knockout power. Shogun was great but clearly he's not the same fighter he was in Pride where he won numerous fights via soccer kicks which are illegal in the UFC. (That's how he beat Rampage and Wanderlei exposed him for Shogun). Not to take that win away, but it's just something to think bout. You guys can talk all you want but I'll do what I do everytime Machida fights, put my money where my mouth is.

  23. dane drebin

    October 5, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    actually shogun took griffin down exactly 4 times in their match with a horribly blown out shot knee.

  24. patrick bateman

    October 5, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    anyone who thinks Shogun stands a chance against Machida should be shot in the face with a ball of their own shit.

    Lyoto will wake up the morning of the fight, drink a large glass of his own steaming hot piss and then give SHO-GONE the worst beat down of his life. Rua got embarrassed by Forrest almost did not make it against a pathetic Coleman and KO'd a washed up Chuck with a punch that Dan henderson would have smiled at.

    These fighters are not in the same league and there is no one in this division to compete with the dragon thats why he will keep the belt untill he retires just like his buddy Anderson.

  25. Scooby-Doo

    October 6, 2009 at 3:49 am

    WTF! #4 Same here it's on ESPN! What.D-white has to make it up to us fans for getin last ufc's the were so-so. Wasted 100 and some change. If it's on espn i will be able to watch it @ work.YEAH Man.

    If shogun is back he will win,But if he comes in looking flabby. Machidabadasss by KO.

    Valsquez by TKO (Cain should slow down don't go all inn on heart /emotion slow down and use head movement with some punch combos thats how he will win by KO). Or if Ben is wise he should do his high kick first. Before he thorws any punches POW!KO to The head. When Kongo throw his first right hand it landed right on the button..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>